University Dates 2020-21

Term dates
Key Dates
Academic Year Tue 1 Sep 2020 - Tue 31 Aug 2021
Easter Good Friday, 2 Apr 2021 - Easter Monday, 5 Apr 2021
Bank Holidays
Christmas

Semester/Term Dates

The following outlines University semester/term dates, as well as specific programmes of study within the Faculties of Education and Health and Wellbeing. 

Please note:

There are a number of courses, including Apprenticeships, where dates and holidays may vary depending upon placements, professional body requirements, Local Authority School dates, etc. Students should therefore refer to their School/Programme Lead through the University’s student portal/Blackboard or Individual Student Timetables for information on dates for their individual course of study.

This calendar is mainly used by General Modular Scheme (GMS) Undergraduate Degree Programmes, however there may be some exceptions. Please contact your programme team for more details about the calendar you are on.

Academic Calendar A: Semesters Dates
  2020/21
Welcome and Induction Mon 21 Sep 2020 - Fri 25 Sep 2020
Semester 1: Advent Semester Mon 28 Sep 2020 - Fri 22 Jan 2021
Formal Assessment/ Examination Period Mon 11 Jan 2021 - Fri 22 Jan 2021
Semester 2: Easter Semester Mon 25 Jan 2021 - Fri 21 May 2021
Formal Assessment/ Examination Period Mon 10 May 2021 - Fri 21 May 2021
Reassessment Period Mon 12 Jul 2021 - Fri 16 Jul 2021
Student Holidays (non-teaching) Mon 21 Dec 2020 - Fri 1 Jan 2021 (inclusive)
Mon 29 Mar 2021 - Fri 9 Apr 2021 (inclusive)

This calendar is typically for use by programmes that require a longer academic year to meet external professional requirements. If you are unsure of what calendar you are on, please contact your programme team.

Academic Calendar B1: Semesters Long (Pattern 1) Dates
  2020/21
Semester 1: Advent Semester Mon 14 Sep 2020 - Fri 12 Feb 2021
Formal Assessment/ Examination Period Mon 8 Feb 2021 - Fri 12 Feb 2021
Semester 2: Easter Semester Mon 15 Feb 2021 - Fri 16 Jul 2021
Formal Assessment/ Examination Period Mon 28 Jun 2021 - Fri 16 Jul 2021
Reassessment Period Mon 23 Aug 2021 - Fri 27 Aug 2021
Student Holidays (non-teaching) Mon 21 Dec 2020 - Fri 1 Jan 2021 (inclusive)
Mon 29 Mar 2021 - Fri 1 Apr 2021 (inclusive)

This calendar is typically for use by programmes that require a longer academic year and alignment with Kent School holiday dates to meet external professional requirements. If you are unsure of what calendar you are on, please contact your programme team.

Academic Calendar B2: Semesters Long (Pattern 2)
  2020/21
Semester 1: Advent Semester Mon 14 Sep 2020 - Fri 12 Feb 2021
Formal Assessment/ Examination Period Mon 8 Feb 2021 - Fri 12 Feb 2021
Semester 2: Easter Semester Mon 15 Feb 2021 - Fri 16 Jul 2021
Formal Assessment/ Examination Period Mon 28 Jun 2021 - Fri 16 Jul 2021
Reassessment Period Mon 23 Aug 2021 - Fri 27 Aug 2021
Student Holidays (non-teaching) Mon 21 Dec 2020 - Fri 1 Jan 2021 (inclusive)
Thu 25 Mar 2021 - Wed 7 Apr 2021 (inclusive)

This calendar is typically in use for accelerated degree programmes and postgraduate taught (PGT) programmes. This calendar has trimester 1 and 2 matching semester 1 and 2 (A: Semesters) and a compressed trimester 3 over the summer period. If you are unsure of what calendar you are on, please contact your programme team.

Academic Calendar C: Trimester Dates
  2020/21
Trimester 1: Advent Trimester Mon 28 Sep 2020 - Fri 22 Jan 2021
Formal Assessment/ Examination Period Mon 11 Jan 2021 - Fri 22 Jan 2021
Trimester 2: Easter Trimester Mon 25 Jan 2021 - Fri 21 May 2021
Formal Assessment/ Examination Period Mon 10 May 2021 - Fri 21 May 2021
Trimester 3: Michaelmas Trimester Mon 7 Jun 2021 - Fri 3 Sep 2021
Formal Assessment/ Examination Period Mon 23 Aug 2021 - Fri 3 Sep 2021
Reassessment Period To take place in Formal Assssment/Examination Period in following trimester
Student Holidays (non-teaching) Mon 21 Dec 2020 - Fri 1 Jan 2021 (inclusive)
Mon 29 Mar 2021 - Fri 9 Apr 2021 (inclusive)
Mon 24 May 2021 - Fri 4 June 2021 (inclusive)

This calendar is typically in use for employment based programmes i.e. Foundation Degrees and Apprenticeships, where students typically attend one day a week only. This calendar has three trimesters of equal length. If you are unsure of what calendar you are on, please contact your programme team.

Academic Calendar D: Trimesters (Early Start)
  2020/21
Trimester 1: Advent Trimester Mon 14 Sep 2020 - Fri 8 Jan 2021
Formal Assessment/ Examination Period Mon 7 Dec 2020 - Fri 8 Jan 2021
Trimester 2: Easter Trimester Mon 11 Jan 2021 - Fri 7 May 2021
Formal Assessment/ Examination Period Mon 19 Apr 2021 - Fri 7 May 2021
Trimester 3: Michaelmas Trimester Monday 10 May 2021  - Fri 20 Aug 2021
Formal Assessment/ Examination Period Mon 2 Aug 2021  - Fri 20 Aug 2021
Reassessment Period Mon 6 Sep 2021 - Fri 10 Sep 2021
Student Holidays (non-teaching) Mon 21 Dec 2020 - Fri 1 Jan 2021 (inclusive)
Mon 29 Mar 2021 - Fri 9 Apr 2021 (inclusive)

Please note: If you are unsure of the calendar that you are on, please contact your programme team for details.

Contact us

Share

Connect with us

Last edited: 23/11/2018 17:15:00