Academic Year 2017/18

The University has been pleased to welcome the following Honorary Fellows and Doctors in the academic year 2017/18:

Honorary Doctors

Stephen Clark Stephen Clarke TD

Stephen Clark is a retired investment banker who has over 40 years’ experience in Wealth Management, Investment Banking, Stockbroking and Fund Management. He has been Chief Executive of three significant financial institutions, Oppenheimer International, Gerrard Investment Management and Moscow Narodny Bank/VTB Capital where he became Chairman. He is a nonexecutive director of Nutmeg the on-line investment management business and Access Bank UK. He spent 27 years with the NatWest Bank Group and was a Managing Director and Chief Financial Officer at County NatWest.

Stephen’s journey, of 27 years, in Higher Education began in 1990, when he led a review of the Urban Learning Foundation which trained teachers for the London Inner Boroughs. He spent 12 years on the governing body and became a governor at Canterbury Christ Church University in 2003, completing his second term as Pro- Chancellor and Chair of the Governing Body in July 2017.

Stephen is Chairman of Medway Maritime Hospital NHS Foundation Trust; Chairman, Marshalls Charity (Church of England) and; Chairman, 3H Fund. He was Master 2011 of The Worshipful Company of Wheelwrights; is a Past Chairman of The Broad Street Ward Club; a Freeman of the City of London; and supporter of military soldiers’ charities.

Sandra Matthews-Mars Sandra Matthews-Marsh MBE FTS MTMI

Sandra Matthews-Marsh has a 25 year career in the tourism industry. She has been Chief Executive for Visit Kent for the last 12 years, prior to which she was a senior Director at Leeds Castle and has held senior roles in local government.

In 2012 Sandra was inducted into the Top 100 Club for the most influential women in the tourism and hospitality industry. She was invested with the MBE in the Queen’s Birthday Honours 2014 in recognition of her services to Tourism.

Honorary Fellows

Kate Blewett Kate Blewett

Kate Blewett is a multi Emmy and BAFTA award winning journalist and documentary director focusing on child exploitation, abuse and neglect. She has filmed in over seventycountries including China, Philippines, Thailand, Africa, USA, India, Bulgaria, Ukraine and the UK.

Amongst her 125 awards are the BAFTA for Best Documentary, 6 US Emmys forOutstanding Achievement, the Monte Carlo UNESCO Special Jury Award and the Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Award. Films include: The Dying Rooms, China’s Stolen Children, Slavery, Bulgaria’s Abandoned Children and Children of the Cybersex Dens. Kate is an alumnus of Canterbury Christ Church University.

Phil Gallagher Phil Gallagher

Phil Gallagher is a BAFTA nominated performer, best known for his role as CBeebies’ Mister Maker. He proudly attended Canterbury Christ Church College from 1995 to 1998, studying Radio, Film and Television and English.

Since its first transmission in 2007, Mister Maker has become a worldwide hit and has played in over 100 countries around the globe.

Since 2014, Phil has also taken Mister Maker on several Live UK and International theatre tours - including 18 sold out shows at the iconic Sydney Opera House.


Connect with us

Last edited: 13/12/2018 11:59:00